dealing with legal matters and provides administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court. The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada.

The Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police operates under the direction of the Minister of Justice who also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board.

Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (SC 1900, c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; reinstatement in civil employment; female employee equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; technical and vocational training assistance; annual vacations with pay. It promotes joint consultation in industry through labour-management committees; provides co-ordination of services for rehabilitation of disabled civilians; organizes manpower utilization programs, e.g., farm labour; and operates a Women's Bureau. The Department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Canada Labour Relations Board acts on behalf of, and the National Technical and Vocational Training Advisory Council acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour, and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization. The Unemployment Insurance Commission, which maintains the National Employment Service, reports to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.

Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (SC 1949, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. A primary function of the Department is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy. The Department establishes the framework of surveys throughout the country that provides control for all surveying and mapping in Canada. It produces the base maps used in the development of Canada's natural resources, conducts all the charting of Canada's coastal and inland waters, and issues official sailing directions and Canadian sea and air navigation charts. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories, and the Geographical Branch. The Mineral Resources Division, a unit of head office, gives its whole attention to matters concerned with the economics of mineral resources development.

In 1959 the Department became actively interested in oceanography and made two major moves toward setting its program into motion: (1) the establishment of the Polar Continental Shelf Project to carry out a long-term investigation of the continental shelf lying north and west of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago and of the waters above it, together with the islands of the Archipelago and the straits and sounds between the islands; and (2) the setting up of a \$3,000,000 oceanographic institute in the Bedford Basin near Halifax which will have facilities for study in any phase of the science.

The Department administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid to the Canadian gold mining industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; the International Boundary Commission; and the Interprovincial Boundary Commissions.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923 by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Department of Miltia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Canadian Forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force) now operate under the National Defence Act, 1950 (RSC 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime Forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Services ceased, and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional Ministers. Under the National Defence Act, the Canadian Forces are being administered solely by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, now functions under the National Defence Act. The Chairman of the Board has a status equivalent to that of a Chief of Staff of one of the Canadian Forces.